Make the most of your time at Bishop State by joining one of our many student organizations. Getting involved in your campus is a wonderful way to strengthen your leadership and organizational skills, meet other students and support the College. Whatever your interest, you’ll find an organization or activity that appeals to you. Explore the information below:
BARBERING AND HAIRSTYLING ASSOCIATION (BHA): The purpose of the Bishop State Community College Barbering and Hair Styling Association is to encourage wholesome attitudes toward all aspects of barbering and hairstyling; attain cooperation between the instructors and the student body; stimulate interest in the overall concept of barbering and hairstyling; promote the Barber Code of Ethics; encourage eligible students to adhere to the rules and regulations of this organization; and continue its existence for future years to come. All students officially enrolled in the Barbering and Hair Styling program shall be members. Contact: Wade Dickerson, wdickerson@bishop.edu
BISHOP STATE COLLEGE CHOIR: The Bishop State Community College Choir is designed to explore choral literature of basic musical eras in various styles. Emphasis is placed on musicianship and the development of ensemble vocal techniques. The choir represents the College at civic, school, and religious functions in the community. Membership is granted by audition only. Contact: Zachary Valrie, zvalrie@bishop.edu
CAMPUS MINISTRY: Campus Ministry offers students opportunities for fellowship and participation in Christian activities fellowship. The organization encourages student believers to make a difference in their world by assisting with on-campus and off-campus special projects and helping others. Contact: Robert McWilliams, rmcwilliams@bishop.edu
C.R.A.F.T. (Creative Renditions of Artistically Fueled Talents): The purpose of the club is to allow students interested in the fine arts to explore the visual and performing arts by enjoying arts through various activities and outreach. The C.R.A.F.T Club will also volunteer in the community to provide assistance and connect with others who share the same interest in fine arts. Contact: Lydia Host lhost@bishop.edu, Erica Hunter, ehunter@bishop.edu, Mary Kimbrough, mkimbrough@bishop.edu
CULINARY ARTS STUDENT ASSOCIATION: This organization represents the culinary arts profession at Bishop State Community College. The association participates in culinary arts competitions and travels to food institutions and food shows to expose students to a variety of career choices. This group also participates in community service projects to share the talents of the members and provide resources to those in need. Contact: Chef Gabrielle Wilson, gwilson@bishop.edu
INTERNATIONAL STUDENT ORGANIZATION: This organization promotes goodwill and international cultural exchange at Bishop State. It provides opportunities and activities for students to interact with others from diverse cultures and enrich their global worldview. Contact Yolanda McNeil, ymcneil@bishop.edu
KAPPA BETA DELTA HONOR SOCIETY: The Iota Chapter of Kappa Beta Delta Honor Society is an international honor society recognized in the Division of Business for outstanding students. Eligible students must be in the upper 20 percent of their class with a minimum 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Contact: Lyle Coleman, lcoleman@bishop.edu or Philip Urbanek purbanek@bishop.edu
NATIONAL TECHNICAL HONOR SOCIETY (NTHS): The mission of NTHS is to honor student achievement and leadership, promote educational excellence, award scholarships, and enhance career opportunities. The organization’s vision is to be the international leader in providing recognition for excellence in career and technical education. Contact Daphne Stamps, dstamps@bishop.edu
PEP SQUAD: The Pep Squad exists to motivate and promote school spirit among the students, faculty, and staff. All students are encouraged to join. Contact: Donjoli Rowser drowser@bishop.edu or Victoria Scott vscott@bishop.edu
PHI THETA KAPPA HONOR SOCIETY: The purpose of Alpha Epsilon Nu Chapter, the local chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, is to recognize academic achievements, develop leadership and skills of members, provide networking opportunities, and offer scholarships. To qualify for membership, each candidate must be enrolled in an associate degree program at any of the four campuses of Bishop State (including technical campuses), must have completed 12 semester hours of coursework, possess a 3.50 GPA or higher, adhere to the College’s code of conduct, and demonstrate citizen and leadership traits. NOTE: If a student’s GPA falls below 3.50, he or she must bring up this average by the next semester or be dropped from the Honor Society. Contact: Victoria Perry, vperry@bishop.edu
PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT (PTA) CLUB: This club is open to students enrolled in the Physical Therapist Assistant Program. It sponsors social/community activities and serves to provide networking opportunities. Students will learn about career opportunities in this exciting and burgeoning field. Contact: Lasonja Carver Eaton, lcarvereaton@bishop.edu or Sandra Waltman, swaltman@bishop.edu
SIGMA KAPPA DELTA HONOR SOCIETY: This organization was founded upon the principles of being educational, literary, and charitable. The society shall strive to bestow distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in two-year institutions of high education. It provides cultural stimulation and promotes interest in literature and the English language in the surrounding communities and exhibit high standards of academic excellence. Contact: Dr. Adrian Evans, aevans@bishop.edu
STEM CLUB: The STEM Club brings together all students who share an interest in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).The club provides opportunities for students to network with students who have similar interests, participate in exciting and informative STEM activities and participate in mentoring. Contact: Simone Mosely smosely@bishop.edu or Amy Shaw ashaw@bishop.edu
STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION (SGA): This organization serves and represents the total student body and acts as a catalyst in promoting cooperation and school spirit among students, faculty, and the administration. Students of SGA gain training in self-government and learn to lead others. SGA officers are elected during the spring semester. Contact: Symentha McDonald, smcdonald@bishop.edu
THE COLLEGIATE 100: The C100 is an organization open to all students at Bishop State Community College. The mission of The Collegiate 100 is to improve the quality of life within our communities and enhance educational and economic opportunities through mentoring and community service. Contact: Arthur Madise, amadise@bishop.edu or Victoria Scott, vscott@bishop.edu or Justin Thomas, jthomas@bishop.edu
THE NIGHTINGALES: This organization is open to all current Bishop State Community College nursing students and is designed to provide opportunities for students to engage in college, departmental and community service projects. It is a volunteer organization and is directed by two nursing faculty members. Contact: Brian Swaim, bswaim@bishop.edu
WILDCAT AMBASSADORS: A select group of students who serve as hosts and hostesses for prospective students, visitors, special guests, and numerous college-wide functions. To be selected as an Ambassador is an honor and an excellent opportunity for personal and professional growth. Students who are selected as Ambassadors possess strong interpersonal skills, leadership qualities, and genuine interest in meeting new people, a sense of school spirit and pride, and a commitment to excellence both inside and outside the classroom. Contact: Office of the Dean of Students or Student Activities at 251-405-7087