Nursing

The Department of Nursing offers the following:

  • Certificate (Practical Nursing – after the 3rd semester)
  • Associate in Applied Science (Registered Nursing – after the 5th semester)

**LPN and RN license is granted after successful completion of the NCLEX exam from a state board

Resources

New Curriculum (Effective Fall 2016)

The new curriculum and admission requirements is being implemented for the Fall 2016 semester. ALL students will apply for the Associate Degree (RN) five semester program and will have the option of taking the licensure exam for practical nursing to work as a LPN after the third semester, if they desire. If not, any student may continue for the remaining two semesters and upon graduation, take the RN licensure exam. This new curriculum is designed as a one-plus-one program that will allow students to exit to work in the healthcare field after three semesters or continue on in their education to complete the RN program. Please note that there will no longer be a Practical Nursing Program, just the option to test for a PN license.

Accreditations

Bishop State Community College is accredited by:

The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia, 30033-4097
Tel. (404) 679-4500
www.sacscoc.org

Bishop State’s Associate Degree and Practical Nursing Programs are accredited by:

Accrediting Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
3343 Peachtree Road, NE, Suite 850
Atlanta, GA  30326
Tel. (404) 975-5000

Approval

Bishop State’s Associate Degree and Practical Nursing Programs are approved by:

The Alabama Board of Nursing
P.O. Box 303900
Montgomery, AL 36130
(800) 656-5318
www.abn.state.al.us

Associate Degree Nursing – Upon successful completion of the ADN program, the student is awarded an Associate in Applied Science Degree.

Practical Nursing – Upon successful completion of the PN program, the student is awarded a certificate in Practical Nursing.

Associate Degree or Practical Nursing – Upon successful completion of the program of studies in either the Associate Degree or Practical Nursing Programs, the graduate may be eligible to write the National Council Licensure Examination, upon approval by the Alabama Board of Nursing.

Department Faculty

Director of Nursing, Kimberly Rawson, DNP, RN (251) 405-4495 krawson@bishop.edu
Cora Carter (251) 405-4472 cdickinsoncarter@bishop.edu
Emma Davidson (251) 405-4483 edavidson@bishop.edu
Vesta Fairley (251) 405-4467 vfairley@bishop.edu
Laurie Houston (251) 405-4480 lhouston@bishop.edu
Victoria King (251) 405-4493 vking@bishop.edu
Cecelia Lipscomb-Hammond, DNP (251) 405-4492 clipscomb@bishop.edu
Emma Perry (251) 405-4494 eperry@bishop.edu
Jacqueline Smith, EdD (251) 405-4475 jsmith@bishop.edu
Kendra Strenth, DNP (251) 405-4482 kstrenth@bishop.edu
Michael Williams, DNS (251) 405-4470 mwilliams@bishop.edu

Classes held: Baker-Gaines Central Campus • Office: (251) 405-4495

For current class offerings, see Class Schedules.

Important Dates

  • Fri 09

    Final Exams (Day and Weekend)

    December 7 - December 13
    Mon 12
    Thu 15
    Fri 16

    Duty Days for Staff

    December 16 - December 22